Outline of the Second Division of the Book of Revelation – (Revelation 4:1-16:21 – An outline of the second major literary division of Revelation)

The Throne at the Center of the Cosmos – (Revelation 4:1-11The image of the glorious Throne places God and His rule at the center of the created order and prepares the reader for the introduction of the Lamb)

The Scroll Sealed with Seven Seals – (Revelation 5:1-4The One Sitting on the Throne holds a Scroll sealed tight by seven seals. A search is made for someone in the Creation who is “worthy” to open the Sealed Scroll)

Worthy is the Lamb to Open the Sealed Scroll! – (Revelation 5:5-14The central figure of the book is the freshly slain Lamb who alone has the authority to open the Sealed Scroll, beginning with its seven seals)

The Messianic Reign of the Lamb in Revelation – (In the book of Revelation, Jesus began his Messianic Reign following his Death and Resurrection in fulfillment of prophecy)


The Seven Seals – An Overview – (Revelation 6:1-8:1Upon his arrival before the Throne, the Lamb commences immediately to open the Seven Seals of the Sealed Scroll)

The First Four Seal Openings – An Overview – (Revelation 6:1-8The Lamb begins to break open the first four seals in preparation for the unveiling of the contents of the scroll, a process that unleashes destructive forces against the covenant community)

The First Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:1-2The Lamb now breaks open the first seal, releasing a rider carrying a bow and riding a white horse)

The Second Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:3-4The second rider is on a fiery-red horse sent to “remove peace from the earth” by causing men to “slay one another”)

The Third Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:5-6The third seal releases a rider on a black horse. A voice from the Throne prohibits him from destroying what is needed for daily life)

The Fourth Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:7-8The fourth seal releases a rider named “Death” who is followed by “Hades” gathering up the dead in his wake)

The Fifth Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:9-11The fifth seal reveals the souls of martyrs underneath an altar where they cry out to God for vindication)

The Sixth Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:12-17The sixth seal opening ushers in the Day of the Lord, the time of wrath upon the inhabitants of the earth – No one can stand before the Lamb or the Throne)

The Seal of God – (Revelation 7:1-3God’s servants are sealed before the “four winds of the earth” are unleashed by the four horsemen)

The Number of the Sealed Servants – (Revelation 7:4-8144,000 males from the tribes of Israel are numbered and assembled for transit to the Promised Land )

The Innumerable Multitude – The Vision – (Revelation 7:9-12John now sees an innumerable multitude from all nations standing before the Lamb and the Throne)

The Innumerable Multitude – The Interpretation – (Revelation 7:13-17One of the “elders” interprets the vision of a vast multitude that “no man could number,” standing before the Throne )

The Seventh Seal Opening (Revelation 8:1-6The seventh seal ends with the seven angels prepared to sound their trumpets)


A Rapture in the Book of Revelation? – (The doctrine of the “rapture” is not found in the book of Revelation and must be imported into it – Revelation 4:1-2)

Photo by Johannes Plenio on

Studies for Disciples of Jesus Christ

My Coupeville

Town of Coupeville on Penn Cove - Paradise Found

Beast Rising

Studies for Disciples of Jesus Christ

My Prophetic Reflections

Studies for Disciples of Jesus Christ

Disciples Global Network

Studies for Disciples of Jesus Christ

Revelation Answers

Studies for Disciples of Jesus Christ

%d bloggers like this: