1. Prologue to the Book of Revelation – (Revelation 1:1-8The Prologue to the book of Revelation presents the basic themes of the book and anchors its visions in the past Death and Resurrection of Jesus)
  2. The First Vision on Patmos – (Revelation 1:9-20The book of Revelation is addressed to seven actual churches in the province of Asia in the first century and sent by John from exile on the isle of Patmos on account of the Gospel)
  3. Introduction to the Churches of Asia – (The visitation of Jesus to each of the Seven Churches prepares the reader to understand the visions that follow the letters to the churches of Asia)
  4. The Church at Ephesus – (Revelation 2:1-7The messenger of the assembly at Ephesus is commended for rejecting false apostles but chastised for losing his “first love)
  5. The Church at Smyrna – (Revelation 2:8-11The church at Smyrna is promised more tribulation based on its past faithfulness in persecution)
  6. The Church at Pergamos – (Revelation 2:12-17The church at Pergamos is corrected for tolerating the teachings of “Balaam”)
  7. The Nicolaitans – (The “Nicolaitan” deception taught believers to compromise with the idolatrous rites of the surrounding society, including the Roman imperial cult)
  8. The Church at Thyatira – (Revelation 2:18-29 The prophetess, “Jezebel,” deceived many saints at Thyatira into accommodating idolatrous practices)
  9. The Church at Sardis – (Revelation 3:1-6The church in the city of Sardis receives no commendation, only warnings, and a summons to repent)
  10. The Church at Philadelphia – (Revelation 3:7-13Like the church at Smyrna, Philadelphia receives no correction. She is faithful and, therefore, will be kept from the hour of trial)
  11. Kept from the Hour – (Revelation 3:10Revelation nowhere describes the physical removal of the Church from the earth to escape the tribulation – overcoming saints remain faithful in tribulations)
  12. The Church at Laodicea – (Revelation 3:14-22The church at Laodicea receives no commendation, only correction)
  13. The Beginning of the Creation of God – (Revelation 3:14The Book of Revelation looks forward to the final victory of the Lamb in the New Creation, a reality inaugurated by the Death and Resurrection of Jesus)
  1. Outline of the Second Division of the Book of Revelation – (Revelation 4:1-16:21 – An outline of the second major literary division of Revelation)
  2. The Throne at the Center of the Cosmos – (Revelation 4:1-11The image of the glorious Throne places God and His rule at the center of the created order and prepares the reader for the introduction of the Lamb)
  3. The Scroll Sealed with Seven Seals – (Revelation 5:1-4The One Sitting on the Throne holds a Scroll sealed tight by seven seals. A search is made for someone in the Creation who is “worthy” to open the Sealed Scroll)
  4. Worthy is the Lamb to Open the Sealed Scroll! – (Revelation 5:5-14The central figure of the book is the freshly slain Lamb who alone has the authority to open the Sealed Scroll, beginning with its seven seals)
  1. The Seven Seals – An Overview – (Revelation 6:1-8:1Upon his arrival before the Throne, the Lamb commences immediately to open the Seven Seals of the Sealed Scroll)
  2. The First Four Seal Openings – An Overview(Revelation 6:1-8The Lamb begins to break open the first four seals in preparation for the unveiling of the contents of the scroll, a process that unleashes destructive forces against the covenant community)
  3. The First Seal Opening(Revelation 6:1-2The Lamb now breaks open the first seal, releasing a rider carrying a bow and riding a white horse)
  4. The Second Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:3-4The second rider is on a fiery-red horse sent to “remove peace from the earth” by causing men to “slay one another”)
  5. The Third Seal Opening(Revelation 6:5-6The third seal releases a rider on a black horse. A voice from the Throne prohibits him from destroying what is needed for daily life)
  6. The Fourth Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:7-8The fourth seal releases a rider named “Death” who is followed by “Hades” gathering up the dead in his wake)
  7. The Fifth Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:9-11The fifth seal reveals the souls of martyrs underneath an altar where they cry out to God for vindication)
  8. The Sixth Seal Opening – (Revelation 6:12-17The sixth seal opening ushers in the Day of the Lord, the time of wrath upon the inhabitants of the earth – No one can stand before the Lamb or the Throne)
  9. The Seal of God – (Revelation 7:1-3 God’s servants are sealed before the “four winds of the earth” are unleashed by the four horsemen)
  10. The Number of the Sealed Servants – (Revelation 7:4-8144,000 males from the tribes of Israel are numbered and assembled for transit to the Promised Land )
  11. The Innumerable Multitude – The Vision – (Revelation 7:9-12John now sees an innumerable multitude from all nations standing before the Lamb and the Throne)
  12. The Innumerable Multitude – The Interpretation – (Revelation 7:13-17One of the “elders” interprets the vision of a vast multitude that “no man could number,” standing before the Throne )
  13. The Seventh Seal Opening – (Revelation 8:1-6 The seventh seal ends with the seven angels prepared to sound their trumpets)
photo of church during daytime
Photo by Matthew DeVries on
Insights into Bible Prophecy

The Last Days in light of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus

Disciples Global Network

Studies for Disciples of Jesus Christ

My Prophetic Reflections

My own story, plus reactions to developments in the Church

Final Word

The Word of the Son, the Word made Flesh

%d bloggers like this: